JiG is on Patreon and Needs You! Click here for more information

  • Review

  • Browser Games

Jelly Escape

  • Currently 4.6/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 4.6/5 (218 votes)
Comments (17) | Views (3,520)

TrickyJelly EscapeLet me tell you. You might not be ready for this Jelly Escape, a puzzle-platformer by Taw Studio... but you'll have a lot of fun with it. The goal is as simple as moving and jumping your jelly through each level with [WASD] or [arrow] keys, collecting bonuses, and avoiding death either by flame, or, more insidiously, your rival jellies. You'll find many of the standard platforming elements herein: springboard to hurtle you through the air, triggers that will shift the gravity, lasers that will destroy blocks of the appropriate color, screen edges that will transport you to the other side, unstable blocks that will crumble once you've landed on them, portals to teleport you around the levels, and so forth. It sounds like a lot to take it, but each new concept is presented quite naturally.

Games about anthropomorphic blobs making their way through dangerous obstacle-laden settings are nothing new, but Jelly Escape is a quality interpretation, with a fluid progression of 60 levels, a comprehensive checkpoint system that allows the game to be challenging without ever feeling too tough, and a hilariously whimsical sense of humor. The Pro-Jelly propaganda posters that are displayed between levels is a great touch, as is the unexpected cameos from other flash gaming Blobs. It's not perfect: the pace your Jelly moves at feels quite sluggish, especially when hit with CPU-lag. It can be really frustrating when you can see all the moves you're supposed to make, but have to wait for your Jelly to catch up with your mind. Even if it doesn't quite break the mold, Jelly Escape is a nice slow-paced time-waster. U Jelly?

Play Jelly Escape


Blue-Hand May 20, 2012 11:56 AM

Game runs too slowly on my comp to really play more than dozen levels, but I give you 6 stars for checkpoint system! Finally I don't have to repeat whole level after one mistake. I wish more games would follow this.



Are you sure it is running slowly and just not the way it was intended - it is a blob of jelly not a plumber after all. Jelly is more sluggish.

Just thinking out loud :)

My jelly sort of responded as I would expect for a cube of raspberry flavour

OKtomcat May 21, 2012 8:01 AM

Adjusting the quality to low seemed to fix the sludgy lag almost entirely for me. However, I gave up entirely on the game after 8 or 9 levels due to the Wizard 101 ads popping up after every 2 - 3 levels. The level complete screen comes up, then goes dark almost immediately, indicating an ad is coming up; hitting space to skip it starts the next level, but the obnoxiously loud ad voiceover pipes throughout that level regardless. Maybe I'm whining a bit, but it pretty much rendered the game unplayable to me.


Well I should have been doing something else, but I finished this with all electric and no walk through help!

It never got too bad even when you got that drop draw, how the hell am I going to do this moment, the levels really did lead you through the correct order - well with a few red herrings thrown in.


New version up! Interlevel ads should be disabled in this latest version. (Thank you, Lucas! :)


I had this almost finished last night. I came back to finish it now, but my progress is gone. Could this have something to do with the update? Did this happen to anyone else?


My progress not carried through ? I just had a couple of the special levels left !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jay I'm a going to find maaa shot gun god dang it, first time ever I finished a game like that...

See you at dawn :)

Jay May 21, 2012 4:27 PM replied to Bill

Sorry about that. I uploaded the new version using a different name. Sometimes Flash devs don't provide a name under which the saved games should be saved as, and Flash then uses the filename of the game itself. I've changed the filename back to the original, so your saved game data should be there now. Just refresh the game page.


Thanks Jay

I knew you would fix it, shame about the shotgun though, I was sort of looking forward to that, another time another place.

oldguy07 May 23, 2012 12:44 PM

A really enjoyable game. I too like the checkpoints. They keep the game going and is placed just right, so as to prevent undue frustrations during challenging levels. Well done, and hope to see more of this game in the future.


This game got so much right. Easy levels mixed in to give you a break, challenging sections with plenty of check points.

Carny Asada May 27, 2012 7:29 PM

Love this game. I'll have to take someone else's word for it that all the electric bolts are possible -- I finished, but have about 10 bolts to go back and try for again.

inheritance.fan June 6, 2012 2:59 PM

The game runs fine on my computer, even though overall I've been experiencing lag (I'm lagging with this game today for some reason). I found it very cute and enjoyed switching between characters. I just unlocked Captain Viridian (I also have the Facebook unlocks) but like Gish the most. I have yet to try the Twitter unlocks. I have all 120 bolts from the first 40 levels.

inheritance.fan June 6, 2012 3:17 PM

Correction - the Twitter bird is cute, but the game is now lagging too badly to play.

tianshuo June 30, 2012 2:15 PM

Very laggy engine, but levels easy enough for me to get all stars on all levels. Energy level 133%
Normal Mode Time 13:44, with about 15 deaths. (42 esp painful)
Twitter and Facebook unlocks contain the most difficult levels.

For best times, had to play through at least two times since there is no need to get stars.


After reaching the Legend of Zelda special level, I'm curious if I've missed any other game tributes/Easter eggs in here. Anyone notice any others? (Besides the unlockable characters of course.)


I liked the game. It was a great benefit to have all of the save points. The only negative is the "true fan levels" I do not even have a twitter account, those levels just sitting there and I cannot play them.


^ Scroll Up | Homepage >

Leave a comment [top of page]

Please consider creating a Casual Gameplay account if you're a regular visitor here, as it will allow us to create an even better experience for you. Sign-up here!
  • You may use limited HTML tags for style:
    (a href, b, br/, strong, em, ul, ol, li, code, spoiler)
    HTML tags begin with a less-than sign: < and end with a greater-than sign: >. Always. No exceptions.
  • To post spoilers, please use spoiler tags: <spoiler> example </spoiler>
    If you need help understanding spoiler tags, read the spoiler help.
  • Please Preview your comment before posting, especially when using spoilers!
  • No link dropping, no domains as names; do not spam, and do not advertise! (rel="nofollow" in use)
Yellow> chrpa The new game from Bart Bonte is sharp yellow and black. The first-signal system activates! Wasps! Hornets! Caution Bio-Hazard! Caution Wet Floor! Slow Down! The last one is correct, no need to hurry anywhere, we've got awesome relaxing game with...  ...
The Basement Escape> chrpa Huzzah! Tesshi-e is back with another excellent game! First, don't panic after you notice the intro screen you've seen before. Yes, it's from The Escape Hotel 3: Remake released last summer. Tesshi-e just revisited his favourite hotel, lost his way...  ...
Weekday Escape N°151> chrpa Hi! The new Weekday Escape is here bringing three fantastic games! Lutaru gives us a box for playing, with a small button here and a tiny hole there and waits until we figure out what to do with it. After...  ...
Weekday Escape N°150> chrpa Maybe you are on holiday, maybe you are planning it and maybe you don't have any. Anyway, Weekday Escape is here as a short break for everybody! Well, not so short, in fact. The first game is from Detarame Factory...  ...

Recent Comments


Display 5 more comments
Limit to the last 5 comments

Game of the week

Dark Parables: Return of the Salt Princess Collector's Edition

Your Favorite Games edit

Save links to your favorite games here. Use the Favorites editor.

Monthly Archives