• Currently 4.1/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 4.1/5 (159 votes)

JayPurouty mini-gameOn of Eyezmaze just released a mini-game 'hidden' within his Hatch Today series of illustrations. Purouty is the 28th illustration to appear in Hatch Today, and included with it is a mysterious "More" button. When clicked, you're treated to a unique puzzle game to solve in On's distinct and charming, delightful style.

If you enjoy the thrill of discovery and would rather figure it out for yourself, then don't read any further. If you get stuck, come back and learn how to play below.

When the game begins, a ring of colored creatures is revealed below the surface. Click on a creature to connect (or disconnect) its nose to (or from) the pool in the center. The characters at the top of the screen will think of colors. Every couple of seconds, the game checks to see if the colors of the creatures you have connected match the same colors being thought of above. If you're right, the bar at the bottom increases. If wrong, it decreases. It gets harder as more characters appear on top and start thinking of multiple colors. Also, you have to make sure all the creature noses are disconnected if nobody is thinking of a color.

Play Purouty

Cheers to pokemega32 for sending this one in! =)


It is either me or my laptop screen but I find it very difficult to differentiate between the red/pink and pink/purple colours. Makes it a bit tough. Love the graphics though.

Kratospie August 4, 2009 3:47 PM

A new Eyezmaze game? Anyday that a new Eyezmaze game comes out is hearby named, "AwesomeDay".

mostlywhatnot August 4, 2009 4:05 PM

For some reason, the page with the game just keeps starting to load over and over without me doing anything. Like its spontaneously refreshing before it can finish loading the page.

[Edit: Check your browser extensions. Many extensions, especially ad blockers, interfere with Flash on pages. If you have no extensions installed, check your Flash Player version. -Jay]

Dr. Worm August 4, 2009 4:15 PM

It's nice whenever a game is so simple that you can figure out how to play it without even looking up a description on the gameplay. I figured it out by myself in no time flat.

It's quite tricky at times, but this is one that you can come back to a lot to try to get a higher rank. Once again, hooray for Eyezmaze and his limitless imagination! :)

Robert Jones August 4, 2009 5:34 PM

rank E, apparently.
sounds like something lesser...
otherwise unusually easy eyezmaze game.
doesn't do much for you.


I am having the same issue with the game loading over and over again.

[Edit: And my advice to you is the same: disable your browser extensions, as it's likely one of those conflicting with the page the game is on. If that doesn't work, update your Flash player. -Jay]


Misses: 5


In case anybody was wondering. I think there's a little luck involved too, first time I finished I had 16 misses and rank


and I really feel like it was just easier the time I got 5.

Fun as always. Even on a game with slightly simpler (weaker?) gameplay like this, On's unique style makes it delightful.


There's nothing on the little game screen! It's just yellow with the little bar at the bottom! I was so excited too..! Help?

Angelblade August 4, 2009 7:02 PM

Misses: 0




Miss: 3
Rank: A

So close!

I like it! All of Eyezmaze's games are original and inventive, and this one throws in some skill and timing. 5/5!

Anonymous August 4, 2009 9:58 PM

Although this game was from a name like eyemaze and there would obviously be a good ammount of responses, I believe that it would have served just as well in a link dump friday. Honestly, some of the games in link dump fridays have much more depth than this and it's not horrible that it got its own post, I just think that the Jay could have been working on the review for a game that would require more writing or review. These are my just my opinions.

On a new topic, I got a miss/score of 15/D the first time, 3/A the second time, and 0/S the third time once I stopped using my touchpad and hooked up my mouse.

Overall, I give the game a 2/5 because of the lack of replay once you get a sort of rhythm down and could go through without missing any.


Cute game! I had to read the directions here, though. I kept getting gray for my first color, and I was reading it in the thought-bubble as "black" and the gray pot as "white" and thinking that I had to mix all the other colors together... well, yeah. Color confusion. Heh. But once I knew what I was doing I got 3/A.

Coldfrog August 5, 2009 5:09 PM

tricky but fun! though now I want to play Catch again.


@Angelblade: "S" meaning "superb"?

Rex Mario (the 3rd Mario Bro.) August 6, 2009 2:05 AM

Elzie, I was having the same problem you are, I just reloaded the page and the game worked fine.

PandaKnight August 6, 2009 5:28 AM

It'd be nice if it didn't bait-and-switch.

At later levels, it'll add or subtract colors just before the timer runs out so you get a Miss for not being precognitive. Wonderful. Usually On avoids such unfairness.


Miss: 24
Rank: E

Also, I'm colorblind.


LOL--I got 24/E. Fun game, even if it was a bit simpler. Cute, inventive design as always. :D


bad link to game, better link is

[Thank you. I've updated the review. -Jay]


I got game over and no rank. help?


^ Scroll Up | Homepage >

Leave a comment [top of page]

    Please consider creating a Casual Gameplay account if you're a regular visitor here, as it will allow us to create an even better experience for you. Sign-up here!
  • You may use limited HTML tags for style:
    (a href, b, br/, strong, em, ul, ol, li, code, spoiler)
    HTML tags begin with a less-than sign: < and end with a greater-than sign: >. Always. No exceptions.
  • To post spoilers, please use spoiler tags: <spoiler> example </spoiler>
    If you need help understanding spoiler tags, read the spoiler help.
  • Please Preview your comment before posting, especially when using spoilers!
  • No link dropping, no domains as names; do not spam, and do not advertise! (rel="nofollow" in use)
Cover Orange Journey: Gangsters> Dora The popular physics puzzle series is back, and with a swanky gangster theme. By now, you know the drill. Click to drop various pieces that all behave differently into the environment to keep your oranges safe from the deadly rain!  ...
Weekday Escape N°101> Dora This week on Weekday Escape! Vitamin Hana traps you, but at least you've got some toys to putter around with. Primera uses the wonders of technology and kitty cats to keep you captive. And Detarame Factory provides two tiny games... one of which has squirrels and rains of Pocky!  ...
1 Comment
Llamas In Distress> Tricky Llamas In Distress (AKA Vertigo: Gravity Llama 2) is a physics-platform game by Jindo where everyone's favorite form of camelid will be flipping all over the place to find his friends and stop the drama. As gravity-games go, Llamas In Distress isn't particularly unique, but its gameplay is fast and frenetic, with a genuine sense of bouncy fun permeating the whole experience.  ...
JayisMobile: the site is now fully Responsive!> Dora JayisGames has launched its new responsive mobile site, and we're looking for your feedback to help make it the best we can!  ...

Recent Comments


Display 5 more comments
Limit to the last 5 comments

Casual game of the week

Haunted Hotel: The X

Your Favorite Games edit

Save links to your favorite games here. Use the Favorites editor.

Monthly Archives

Legal notice

All games mentioned or hosted and images appearing on JayIsGames are Copyright their respective owner(s).

All other content is Copyright ©2003-2015 JayIsGames.com. All Rights Reserved.

Visit our great partner: maxcdn!