• Currently 3.3/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 3.3/5 (46 votes)
Comments (14) | Views (782)

ArtbegottiChuckaBOOMIn order to avoid arousing terrorist suspicion from government organizations like the CIA, this introduction paragraph will not jokingly describe the joys of throwing bombs around. Instead, we will discuss ice cream. If you ever go to the ice cream store, try getting a scoop of Berries and Cream on top of a scoop of Whitehouse Cherry. That's my favorite combination so far, with Blueberry Cheesecake on top of Strawberry coming in a close second.

ChuckaBOOM! is a new game from Ninja Doodle (Hardboiled) that makes throwing bombs fun. (D'OH!) The object of each level is to clear a target number of stars, using bombs that go off three (short) seconds after you fling them. Clear enough of the randomly colored Bloo— er, sorry, stars from each level with the limited number of bombs, and you move on to the next level.

Before you start flinging bombs around, some levels offer you some helpful tools that you can drag around the playing field for use as you see fit. Booms are one-time-use stationary bombs that you can strategically place for chain reaction action. Canons [sic] fire beams that can destroy anything in their path, as well as set off other Canons and Booms (double-click to rotate them). Also, any bomb that you fling can be caught again, just in case you need to double-check your angle or force. Doing so causes the timer on the bomb to reset.

Of course, playing a game like this without obstacles to overcome is like putting chocolate sauce on chocolate ice cream. (Sorry, irrelevant simile.) Most levels feature a sort of brick that bombs can't touch, lest they be sent back to the starting position. Later levels introduce semi-transparent bricks, laser traps, teleporters, and even ask you to blow up stars in the dark.

Analysis: If ChuckaBOOM! reminds you of a certain other game that has you throwing darts at balloons, you'd be correct in noting the similarities. However, the time-release twist brings an interesting new element to the game, since you can't just have good aim, but you need to have the right force behind your fling as well.

Unfortunately, the game is fairly easy and a shade on the short side, although perfectionists who want to rock the high score board will find plenty of reason to keep replaying levels. What makes it so easy? You're given a limited number of bombs, but if a bomb never "goes off," you don't lose it. Therefore, rather than being penalized when you hit a block or run into a laser trap, you just get another free shot from the beginning. Because of this, some levels can be completely cleared without a single bomb exploding. If penalties for missed bombs were included, the game's difficulty would certainly increase to a much healthier level, like the precision required in a game of Bloons.

That is, of course, not to say that ChuckaBOOM! is a pushover. Like working with normal bombs or broken ice cream scoops, a careful, precise hand is needed to get the best results. So if you think you're ready for a go, try a game with fun explosive-flinging and a name that's fun to say. (We recommend elongating the third syllable.)

Play ChuckaBOOM!


coolpilot May 20, 2009 12:57 PM

Interesting game.

carldec May 20, 2009 1:45 PM

hmmm.... the game doesnt tell you what level your on... but must be about level 12 or so.

How do you get by the lasers? nothing I do seems to matter... no way around them that I can find.


I thought the berries reference was quite clever, actually.


The lasers seem to have me stuck too :/

Anonymous May 20, 2009 3:11 PM


Move the bomb just before the laser and wait for the laser to turn off. They take a little bit to recharge between firing, so you can move the bomb through

Username May 20, 2009 4:24 PM

Won't load for me, keeps timing out in FF.


For some reason, the links aren't working for me...

Ezrabbit May 20, 2009 5:50 PM

I just get a blank window.


Thanks for the heads-up on the link, everyone. I've switched the links to the copy at Kongregate.

ganondox May 20, 2009 8:37 PM

You said don't look back was hard, yet it was easy. Now you say this game is easy when it is really hard. Especially when you must chuck the bomb through a gap.

Berimon May 21, 2009 1:48 AM

The link from the first picture still points to ninja doodle, which still times out.


This is a terrible game! The throwing mechanics are all over the place and gives you no accuracy... but even stranger is that this does not matter as you can just catch a bomb if you mess up, and there is no penalty... even stranger is that all the barriers that are supposed to block you, do not do so, because you can just throw the bomb through them and then catch them the other side, again with no penalty... meaning there is no real variation in the levels... someone really didn't do some playtesting on their game!

joeynow May 23, 2009 2:11 PM

Edd, maybe you hit a glitch? Transparent walls can indeed be thrown through, but normal ones will just reset you. Worked fine for me.

artbegotti-- nice review. Isn't it terrible, the atmosphere of paranoia we now live in? I could tell you the humiliation my own mother (a middle aged, blonde Jewish woman) suffered at the airport...

joeynow May 23, 2009 2:15 PM

And, of course I know that a lot of perfectly innocent Muslims are being mistreated for looking Middle Eastern. I'm just saying, we've been paranoid, yet sloppy.


^ Scroll Up | Homepage >

Leave a comment [top of page]

    Please consider creating a Casual Gameplay account if you're a regular visitor here, as it will allow us to create an even better experience for you. Sign-up here!
  • You may use limited HTML tags for style:
    (a href, b, br/, strong, em, ul, ol, li, code, spoiler)
    HTML tags begin with a less-than sign: < and end with a greater-than sign: >. Always. No exceptions.
  • To post spoilers, please use spoiler tags: <spoiler> example </spoiler>
    If you need help understanding spoiler tags, read the spoiler help.
  • Please Preview your comment before posting, especially when using spoilers!
  • No link dropping, no domains as names; do not spam, and do not advertise! (rel="nofollow" in use)
Aquatic Rescue> Dora Also available on mobile devices, OZDY takes you under da sea for an adorable physics puzzle game where you need to reunite baby sea creatures with their parents, though with moving platforms, wrecking balls, switches, buttons that make you shrink or grow and more, it's trickier than you think!  ...
Monkey GO Happy Turkeys> Dora It's Thanksgiving day! But how can you celebrate without a feast! Help the monkeys look all over town in this point-and-click puzzle game from Pencil Kids to find everything they need, including a whole lot of apples, and the bird of honor!  ...
Hoverboard> Dora Webcomic xkcd has been around for over a decade, and to celebrate the release of his new book, creator Randall Munroe has created a very simple piece of platforming interactive art. But venture beyond the small playing field, and you'll find a much bigger world than you thought that's full of surprises.  ...
Rock 'n' Roll Escape> Dora Pine Studio serves up a short but rock-worthy escape in your browser or free on iOS and Android as you try to find your way out of a cozy, abandoned little concert venue. But with a soundtrack this catchy, will you be able to resist air-guitaring long enough to escape?  ...

Recent Comments


Display 5 more comments
Limit to the last 5 comments

Casual game of the week

Haunted Hotel: The X

Your Favorite Games edit

Save links to your favorite games here. Use the Favorites editor.

Monthly Archives

Legal notice

All games mentioned or hosted and images appearing on JayIsGames are Copyright their respective owner(s).

All other content is Copyright ©2003-2015 All Rights Reserved.

Visit our great partner: maxcdn!